Skip to content

I’ll See Your Head Tax And Raise You A Credit

September 16, 2011

The Head Tax is an idea that’s been around for at least a decade. It’s an idea that purports to secure additional funding for public education. It’s called Head Tax because it would force families to pay extra income tax for every child they have. You see, when you file your taxes, you get a deduction for each dependent, which means your tax bill drops. Since all income tax in Utah goes to education, the Head Tax people think that means you’re not paying your fair share.

After all, it’s your kids filling up the schools, costing the state money. Listen to the Head Tax folks make the case for you to take greater responsibility for the education of your kids:

“Utahns need to start being more financially responsible for the education of their own children.”

“Can we begin to talk about a head tax per child in school? Can we make some monetary sacrifices for our own children?”

“If you have a lot of kids, you should be prepared to care for them. This is not an anti-family bill. It’s a pro-family bill. We all benefit from high quality education.”

How so very conservative of them! What with their personal responsibility and pro family stance. These quotes could have been pulled straight from Atlas Shrugged! I have to admit, when I first started hearing of this proposal this past summer, I thought it might have merit.

But then I did the math.

The Head Tax folks are telling me that my taxes aren’t enough to cover the expenses my four kids represent to the state – they’re a net drain on public education. If that’s true, then if my kids, and my tax money, were to leave the system, public education would be better off financially. No more drain on the system! No more not pulling my own weight, not paying my fair share!

So, Head Tax people, I’m calling your bluff. If I’m not pulling my weight around here, kindly ask me to leave. Refund me my income tax and I’ll figure out some other way to educate my kids. Maybe we’ll both be better off.

From → Education

6 Comments
  1. Mike Owens permalink

    All of the different tax theories would be moot if we just repealed the 16th amendment and made the Feds go to our state legislatures for our states portion of the federal budget per capita like our founders set it up. Then our legislators could figure out how to fund it. ie: taxes designed for Utahns.

  2. I’m guessing you’re referring to Pat Jones’ idea?

    • Yes. I had a conversation with someone who supported it and the personal responsibility rhetoric used to try and garner my support felt more like brow beating. If these advocates want me to be more responsible, then let’s do it. Let me be more responsible. If their logic is true, then we’ll both be better off.

      • I can’t see how some candidate won’t use this against Pat as a campaign tool. “Democrat seeks to raise tax burden ONLY on people with children.” That’s exactly what it does, and I can’t imagine how anyone supports it.

        We’ve decided as a nation, right or wrong, that public education of children benefits ALL of us, even those who do not have children. This would turn that on it’s head, and deincentivize the growth of our country through child bearing and rearing, as if there are not already enough reasons to have fewer, or no, children.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Utah Public Education Wants To Have Cake, Eat It Too « Productive Activities
  2. I’ll See Your Head Tax And Raise You A Credit [Productive Activities]

Leave a Reply

